NOT THE JOKER

Today, all I’ve seen are ads for the new Suicide Squad film and new images of Jared Leto as The Joker. I haven’t been a fan of this movie since I first even heard of it. I’m not a fan of change. I keep to what I like and have grown up on and ignore what people do to change everything.

When the trailer came out for Suicide Squad, I did give it a chance. I really tried but I can’t find myself getting into it.

Jared Leto is not The Joker.

To me, there hasn’t been a true live action Joker, not yet. And I’m not on the Heath Ledger Joker bandwagon either. I thought his Joker was lacking and didn’t really capture what Joker is all about.

In my opinion, the best Joker has been the one in the different cartoon Batman films. I loved The Joker for Under the Red Hood, and Mask of The Phantasm and of course The Dark Knight Returns.

Jack Nicholson was not a very good Joker, to me. I thought he was too goofy and Nicholson just didn’t look the part. For me, it was just seeing Jack be Jack. I did like some of what he did, some devious lines like         “I am the first fully functioning homicidal artist.” I love stuff like that but it just came down to that I couldn’t not think of Jack Nicholson. The thing that always comes to mind when I think of this, is that when Jack and Michael (Keaton) first got made up and in their costumes, Jack looked him over and said “We’re grownups right?”

To play a part, you have to become it.

Heath Ledger did decent to me. He was far more evil that Jack Nicholson’s Joker but that’s the problem. He was too evil and not comical enough. Sure, he made jokes every now and then but he wasn’t The Joker enough. I don’t know if that really makes any sense but it’s what I see. I liked the makeup work on Ledger and how he made this his own Joker but well..there it is, it was his own Joker, not like any I know of.

Now for Leto. I’ve never really been a fan of Jared Leto as it is. I’ve seen him in movies, like Fight Club and I felt rather his presence in the movies dragged them down. I sort of lost interest in Fight Club, one of my favorite films of all time, after he showed up. I don’t know what it is but I can’t like him. I saw images of his Joker, I saw his Joker in the trailer but all I see is a white trash looking Joker. Just earlier today someone posted something along those lines about the newest image of him saying “He looks like he got mixed up in Spencers.” I can see that. He looks more bum than Joker.

I’m not sure if we’ll ever have a Joker than lives up to my standards but I can hope. For now, I’ll rewatch the animated series with Mark Hamill’s Joker and play the Arkham games. And hey, no more hate on Troy Baker’s Joker, I thought he did an amazing job. Just listen to the credits of Arkham Origins and listen to The Joker singing Hank William’s Cold Cold Heart.

Thank you for reading and I hope you enjoy it. Please comment and tell me what you think.

Leave a Reply

