THAT METAL GEAR SOLID POST

Hey everyone!

Today’s post is about the series Metal Gear Solid. That being said, I have not played all of them games in the series so my knowledge is only as good as what I have played and what I’ve read.

One day, some years back I had just gotten a refund check from my college. Now, being a college student my money had been going to mostly pizza. But this one day, I decided to walk into a local video game store. It was a generally new store and I looked around a while. On a shelf was the game Metal Gear Solid HD Collection for the Xbox 360. I thought about picking it up, I’d always heard about it as being a great series.

Some weeks passed and I continued to go to the store and look around but kept stopping at that game. Finally, I just couldn’t resist and picked it up. I went home immediately and began the game. I looked at the choices for story, Metal Gear Solid 2, Peace Walker and Metal Gear Solid 3 Snake Eater. I stopped at Snake Eater because the 60’s are an interesting time period to me. I grew up listening to The Doors for one thing. Anyway I began the game and watched the opening scene. It wasn’t long before I was in awe of not only the music but also the scenes it showed. I could instantly tell that this game was inspired by several films, some of which I had to watch for myself to understand.

From the beginning of the game to the very end I was hooked. The story so unique and thrilling. There was nothing like it. Metal Gear Solid 3 is and will always be my favorite game of all time. It was the first in the series that I jumped into and will always be the best in my opinion. The voice acting of David Hayter, and the character Naked Snake; to me the only true Snake. By the end, I was felt fulfilled but also a sadness was left in me. A scar. That game had done something to me that very, very few have. It made me break down and cry. To go through this journey and face what he faced, to see the horrors and finally at the end..complete his mission. It was the most heartwrenching moment in gaming history.

I’ve played through the majority of Metal Gear Solid 2, and beaten Revengence and Ground Zeroes since then. I even picked up the original game on the Playstation. But nothing has gotten to me so much as Naked Snake in the game. I’ll never think of him as a villain or a bad guy or anything of the sort. He is one of my greatest heroes who has faced endless struggles and tests. He has had to do things that most people can hardly imagine.

I just had to write a post on this because sooner or later the newest game in the series is going to be coming out and I had to reflect on the games. Metal Gear Solid 3 will always be my favorite game and has had the deepest impact to me. Thank you for reading and I hope you enjoyed this.

A True Patriot.

Leave a Reply

