ASSASSIN’S CREED ROGUE: IS IT ANY GOOD?

Assassin’s Creed has a huge franchise and keeps growing. It’s not much of a shocker as the games all have stories to tell, deep with historic facts and landmarks that you can visit. There have been so many games in the series, there are many that must wonder if they have lost their touch.

I received a copy of the newest installment in the Creed series called Rogue. I went into it without much information because I think this is the best way to get into a game, go in full on with little to no information so you’re surprised or disappointed at any turn. I did know that the story dealt with an assassin who turns his back on the brotherhood and joins with their worst enemy, the Templars. With that little information, I jumped in and found that this isn’t your average Assassin’s Creed game.

The story is rich and refreshing, it’s kind of good to be bad. But watch yourself, even if you can kill innocent people, you will have bounty hunters come after you. The same is for ship combat, which feels new and the controls I think are a lot better than previous installment. There is plenty to do, taking over forts and exploring different ports. You can upgrade your ship and add enemy ships to your fleet to complete a naval campaign during the 7 years war.

I do think the story is a little short, but it’s a great story with so many twists and a chilling ending. One thing I enjoy in this game is that you don’t know much of anything of the person that is going into the animus machine. People in the game just call him “numbskull”, which I like because I found the protagonist from other games (Assassins Creed 1-3) Desmond Miles to be boring and uninspired. I didn’t feel he had much of any personality and I thought he was the most default character I’ve ever seen. By cutting all of that out, and you not knowing much on who you’re playing as I think it’s superior because I think it makes it feel as if it is you working for Abstergo Entertainment.

Honestly, I almost gave up on the Assassin’s Creed franchise after they started coming out with so many new games and I didn’t’ really care for the 4th game in the series, Black Flag. But this change in the series is new and it’s better. I’m looking forward and hoping to see a sequel to this game. I highly recommend it for anyone who has given up or thought of giving up on the Assassin’s Creed games. Thank you for reading and hope you enjoyed it.

3 thoughts on “ASSASSIN’S CREED ROGUE: IS IT ANY GOOD?”

Leave a Reply

